Craven's Transfer/ U.S. Post Office 


 A 1905 photograph shows the U.S. Reclamation Service bunk house located here. The transfer of title from the public domain to Minnie and Peter Brown occurred on August 31, 1907 by a special act of Congress. A 1907 photograph shows a sign “Rooms” on the building. In 1921, a feed store was here and later a boarding house. Craven’s Transfer opened their business in the 1920s, while their delivery trucks used the lot to the south. They delivered freight from the railroad freight depot daily, to many local businesses. After WW II, the Craven family built the present brick building. Craven’s continued operating in the east portion of the building. The original loading dock and freight access doors, used to facilitate the loading and unloading of freight, remain on the south side of the building as a reminder of the Craven’s Transfer business. The west portion of the building became the U. S. Post Office, opening at this location in late 1950, in time for the Christmas rush. With the arrival of spring, the Post Office was alive with the unique sounds of loud cheeping by hordes of baby chicks, in cardboard boxes with holes in the top. The Post Office eventually outgrew this building, and in 1963, it became the State Liquor Store. In 1965, The Golden Cue, a local teen haunt featuring billiards and sandwiches, was here. Later, the building housed Valley Tech Electronic Services. This brick building has changed little since its construction and retains it’s historic architecture.